Stephanie A. Bryan Elected Tribal Chair In Historic Election - AZTV7/Cable 13, Me-TV 7.2, HSN 7.3, Phoenix-Prescott, AZ

Stephanie A. Bryan Elected Tribal Chair In Historic Election

Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. WorldNow and this Station make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you have any questions or comments about this page please contact

SOURCE Poarch Band of Creek Indians

POARCH BAND OF CREEK INDIANS RESERVATION, POARCH, Ala., June 10, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- In the exciting and historical election held Saturday, June 7, 2014, Stephanie A. Bryan was elected as the Poarch Band of Creek Indians (PBCI) first female Tribal Chair.  Bryan remarked:

Stephanie A. Bryan Elected Tribal Chair in Historic Election

I am so humbled that the General Council chose to put their faith and confidence in my leadership abilities.  There is no better feeling as a leader than to know that I've been part of a decision that has positively affected the quality of life for my constituents.  Words cannot express how honored I feel to be the first woman elected as the Tribal Chair for the Poarch Creek Indians.  I'm ecstatic to be embarking upon this new journey on behalf of my people.

Mrs. Bryan has served as the Vice Chair for the Poarch Creek Indians Tribal Council since 2006.  Additionally, she has fulfilled various leadership roles on numerous boards, committees, and authorities including: Chair of the PBCI Tribal Gaming Commission, Member of PBCI Health and Family Services Committee, PBCI Budget and Finance Legislative Committee, PBCI Education and Labor Legislative Committee, National Indian Gaming Commission Working Group, and United South and Eastern Tribes Delegate.  She will be assuming the position of Chair for the Poarch Band of Creek Indians which was previously held by Chairman Buford L. Rolin, who is retiring.

A swearing in ceremony will be held during the Tribal Council meeting on June 19, 2014 for the Tribal Council candidates who were elected into office on Saturday, June 7, 2014.  Along with Mrs. Bryan, incumbents Arthur Mothershed and Garvis Sells will be sworn in as Tribal Council Members at Large. 

Photo -

©2012 PR Newswire. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and AZ-TV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.